Amazon Games Reveals "Rise of the Angry Earth," the First Expansion for New World

Published: Aug. 30, 2023
Updated: Aug. 30, 2023

German English

Amazon Games has just announced the first expansion for the open-world MMORPG New World, and the release date is already set: it launches on October 3! The expansion is called “Rise of the Angry Earth”, and we're here to tell you what to expect!

Here's the deal: On October 3, 2023, the first paid expansion for the open-world MMORPG New World will be released, titled “Rise of the Angry Earth”. You can look forward to not only new areas, dungeons, and quests but also the introduction of the first rideable mounts in the game.


By loading the video, you agree to YouTube's privacy policy.
Learn more

Load video

Here's What to Expect in New World's First Expansion, “Rise of the Angry Earth” – New Area, Mounts, Weapon

Let's start with the basics: The level cap will be raised to 65, allowing you to become even stronger than before. Additionally, the progression system is getting an overhaul, aiming to enhance your overall gaming experience. This is particularly geared towards new players who can level up more quickly.

The southeastern tip of Aeternum, known as First Light, has been completely revamped and now serves as the new area for players level 60 and above. Where newcomers were once welcomed, the forces of the Angry Earth have now laid waste to everything. A deadly barrier prevents further discovery, but one thing is clear: new formidable enemies, the Beast Lords, have awakened and pose a threat to the inhabitants of Aeternum.

One of the most exciting changes is the introduction of mounts. Finally, you can traverse the expansive landscapes of Aeternum more quickly. You get to choose from horses, wolves, and lions, which you can even customize to your liking. Each animal has its unique appearance and dyeable equipment. You can even name them!

To unlock your mount, you'll need to complete a quest, which becomes available at a certain level:

  • Horse: Available from Level 25
  • Wolf: Available from Level 45
  • Lion: Available from Level 65

Additionally, mounts can be leveled up to Level 50 by feeding them, completing specific quests, or participating in small races. With each level-up, your mounts will become a little faster. However, you won't have access to the mounts if you do not purchase the expansion.

But there's more! “Rise of the Angry Earth” introduces a new weapon to the game: the flail. This one-handed weapon is not only versatile but can also be combined with a shield in the off-hand. This enhances your group's capabilities both offensively and defensively.

“Rise of the Angry Earth” will be available for $28.99 starting October 3rd. However, if you don't already own the main game, there's the New World: Elysian Edition, which includes both the main game and the expansion for €68.99.

And remember, Season 3 of New World launches concurrently with the expansion. Look forward to a new Season Journey, activity map, challenges, events, and numerous rewards.

Do you want to join our community and discuss New World? Then feel free to join our Discord server or visit us on Facebook. We look forward to seeing you there!

Sascha Asendorf is the co-founder of and has been running online magazines in the gaming sector since 2013. Starting with a strong focus on survival games, Sascha now deals a lot with role-playing games and is an expert on survival and RPG titles like Conan Exiles, Baldurs Gate 3 & Cyberpunk 2077.
Notify of
Please read our Privacy Policy

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram