Diablo Immortal: How to Change Difficulty

Published: Jun. 04, 2022
Updated: Jan. 29, 2024

German English

At the beginning of Diablo Immortal, all players start on Normal difficulty. However, for a higher challenge, better loot, and more rewards, you can change the difficulty level and unlock the Infernal difficulties from level 60.

That's going on: In Diablo Immortal, you have the option to manually adjust the difficulty level to suit your play style. If you prefer to move comfortably through the individual dungeons and worlds and follow the story, there is nothing wrong with leaving the difficulty level on normal for the entire game.

For those who want harder fights, more challenges, and, of course, better equipment, there are Hell difficulties in Diablo Immortal starting from level 60.

Difficulty levels in Diablo Immortal

Select game difficulty in Diablo Immortal

In addition to the normal setting, you can currently choose between four levels of difficulty in Hell. With each higher level, enemies drop better equipment, which then comes with higher attributes. Hell difficulty levels are tied to your character's Paragon level. As soon as you reach level 60, the paragon system and with it the Hell levels of difficulty are unlocked.

  • Normal Difficulty: Character level 1-60
  • Hell 1 Difficulty: Paragon Level 1-60, Monster Battle Rating of 390
  • Hell 2 Difficulty: Paragon Level 30-130, Monster Battle Value of 1190
  • Hell 3 Difficulty: Paragon Level 90-210, Monster Battle Value of 2150
  • Hell 4 Difficulty: Paragon Level 160-300, Monster Battle Rating of 3270

Once you change the difficulty in Diablo Immortal, the monster battle rating will also change. Enemies get stronger and can withstand more. However, with the better loot these monsters drop, you can in turn improve your gear and legendary gems, which will also increase your battle rating.

That's why it's important: The higher levels of hell are important not only to get better equipment but above all to complete the individual set items. You get two of the respective set parts in dungeons at hell level 4. In a way, you are forced to increase your paragon level in order to increase the level of difficulty.

Here's how you can change the difficulty level

Once you've unlocked the first Hell level, you can change the setting from Normal to Hell 1. For this, you have to go to Westmark. Once there, all you have to do is bring up your map and click on the skull icon. Here you can change your level of difficulty.

Remember: the level of the dropped equipment is linked to the set difficulty. For example, if your character reached Paragon level 211, but you set the difficulty to Hell 3, gear for the highest Paragon levels cannot drop.

More Diablo Immortal Guides

Would you like to join our community and discuss Diablo Immortal? Then join our new Discord server, we look forward to seeing you!

Sascha Asendorf is the co-founder of Guided.news and has been running online magazines in the gaming sector since 2013. Starting with a strong focus on survival games, Sascha now deals a lot with role-playing games and is an expert on survival and RPG titles like Conan Exiles, Baldurs Gate 3 & Cyberpunk 2077.
Notify of
Please read our Privacy Policy

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram